Fascination, thy name is SandhyaVandanam

For those who are hearing this term for the first time, SandyaaVandanam (SV as it will be referred to in this post) is a  ritual required to be performed thrice daily by all Brahmin males after their upanayanam (a religious function where one wears the sacred thread around his body).

Although my upanayanam was in 1983 (27 years back) I wasn’t regular in my SV because it seemed like too much work and it did not make any sense.  I did not bother to ask any learned people about its relevance or significance nor read any book on the subject.

And in March 2008, we performed the upanayanam of my elder son Anirudh and to motivate / support him in doing the SV, I started doing it but like most things I do, it didn’t last for long.  Eventually, my son also gave up and I had lost any moral right to ask him to do it regularly.  My mother and my wife were exhorting me to do it regularly atleast so that it might inspire Anirudh but all that fell on deaf ears.  I had even bought a book that explained the different aspects of SV but it was lying in my library, unread.

And then suddenly in mid 2010, I got interested in creating a software (that’s my profession – making and selling software products) to help Diabetics record and analyze their test results. What started as an idea of an offline-software quickly developed into a website where the software would be offered as a service.  Faced with the daunting task of creating other elements of the website besides the software, I started talking to people about treatment for Diabetes and a whole new world opened up for me.  I came in contact with different streams of Treatment & Therapies that bordered on spirituality. (I will write a series of blog posts on my journey regarding Diabetes later)

I read a fascinating book about water being a cure for most chronic ailments, relaxing the mind and de-stressing as an antidote for most of the health-related problems including Diabetes, developing a long breath to fill our blood with more oxygen and of course walking as a solution to most physical problems.  And then there were the aspects of gratitude and prayer that were powerful healers. But all of these seemed very disparate until I started my SV earnestly.

And what I realized astounded me to no end!  And that is the reason for this blog post.

SV, I saw for myself, is much more than the individual components that it was made of because it is an integrated and holistic ( a much abused term nowadays) approach to Life itself.  What am I talking about?

All of us know that the 5 elements of nature viz water, air, earth, space and fire are major constituents of every life in the universe and SV had encompassed 4 of them, with the exception of Agni and that too in a seamless manner..

Let me post some of my experiences and my learnings tomorrow.

And by the way, it is time for my evening SV.

20 Comments

  1. S. Meenakshisundaram said,

    September 15, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I too was irregular in my SV duties. Then in 2007 I perfomed my son Anirudh’s upanaynam. One evening he complined to his mom (My wife Jayasree that Dad not perfoming SV). from that day on I did SV regularly in the morning and evening after coming from office like 9 pm or so way off time for doing eve SV. Then one fine afternoon I was walking done the stairs at Tidel Park (TECHY PARK in Chennai) , which has 13 floors. we (office mates) regularly walk up and down the stairs as a form of excercise. That day I saw a Muslim perfoming his 1 pm daily prayer right in the middle of the stairs. That’s when I realised if he can why can’t I?. So from that day on I perform SV at the right time 12 noon and 6 pm at TIDEL PARK’s (tech park) 14th floor. never felt shy about it. even today i stop like Ravana did to perform my ritual the right time.

    • badrirag said,

      September 15, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      Sundar,

      Thanks for a very inspiring share! One reason why most of us have been irregular in SV is because we associate it with religion and we are not comfortable practising our religion publicly. We need to be proud of our heritage but we can be that only if we understand the beautiful science behind our rituals. In the next few posts of this series, I plan to do just that. Stay tuned and keep smiling

      Badri

    • Jagadish Parameswaran said,

      September 5, 2012 at 6:47 pm

      that’s gr8 sir! I thght of it the say the same as you, bt till now I hav not implemented.. thanks for reminding it to me again :)

  2. September 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Even am not doing my SV at all. Initially I used to do, like everybody and later on it stopped. Though I can give lot of excuses to it, I still feel that I should and can do it, Hope at least after reading this article, I start again. Will keep you posted, IF I start again….

    • badrirag said,

      September 15, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Dear Narayanan,

      It takes a lot of guts to admit publicly that you are not doing SV at all.
      Congrats! As i mentioned in my response to another comment, we will do SV regularly if we really understand how beneficial it is to our everyday life.

      Do stay tuned and if this can help you get into that mode of regularity,
      then i can really pat myself on my back. Do read the other posts in the
      series when you find the time.

      Cheers

      Badri

  3. September 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Time to admit one’s follies. I had my Upanayanam in 1980. Was regular till 1983 when the trials and tribulations of medical school and a relocation to another city for studies took its toll and I stopped. 4 years later, I started Gayathri Mantram alone twice daily and saw much benefit in calming the mind and body. This was also the time when I received upadesam to chant another mantra and I was told that a brahmin who does not do “atleast” Gayathri mantram is of no use to be one (Brahmin duties). I started again and then received the other mantra too. After several years, rigours of professional life led me astray. I restarted after some time. I would put it as mantra japam continuous since about 13 years now.
    Just like another said, I too started thri-kaala sandhyavandanam after seeing a muslim lady perform evening prayers at my clinic while waiting to see me!! This gave me immense peace within and without. It also has an infectious tendency and people around me feel and do better in their walk of life. I now feel I have erred in neglecting so long. Although I am 45, atleast having opened my eyes now, I will be able to do my duties till end of life.
    For others who see no meaning in doing SV, I invite you to follow my life / be with me for a few days and then get to know my past from some one else. Then you will know the difference.

    • badrirag said,

      September 15, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      Subbu,

      First of all congrats for taking on doing Trikala SV everyday for the rest of your life. That’s certainly a model to emulate!

      Your tryst with SV resembles an ECG with all its spikes and surges (too bad you are not a cardiologist)

      Be ready to keep a couple of rooms at home available for people who might want to be with you to understand the power of SV (just kidding!)

      Anbudan

      Badri

  4. September 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    [...] I briefly mentioned in the first part of this series, SV is to be done thrice in a day. Once in the morning just before the sunrise [...]

  5. September 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    [...] Sun, Swami Ramdev This is the third part in our Series about Sandhyavandanam, after an  intro to SV and then Achamanam.  Once achamanam is done, we do the Pranayama which is a “regulator of the [...]

  6. September 23, 2010 at 6:07 am

    [...] ones on Achamanam or Pranayama but something that came out of a reflection while performing  the  SandhyaVandanam this [...]

  7. Cheenu said,

    May 12, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I had my upanayanam ceremony in 1999 but didn’t even bother learning to do SV. Naturally my life was a downhill with mediocre performance in studies and indecision on job front. Even socially I was a disaster as I would shy away from functions and parties/get togethers. In despair I started doing gayatri japam. Within a few days it inspired me to trod further on this path. I went to a nearby Giri book depot and got myself a SV book and started performing it regularly. And voila within 2 months I got a good job and became a life line at the parties and functions I attended. 6 months later I was sent to US from the company itself. All my friends and relatives who had given up on me as a hopeless case were amazed. Even my mother’s colleagues(she is a teacher) started quoting me as an example to their son’s. All this was due to disciplining my life through SV. I hope I didn’t bore you all with my droning but just wanted to ring an alarm bell for all those who are ruining their lives by ignoring SV.

    • badrirag said,

      August 23, 2011 at 9:58 am

      Cheenu, Thanks for sharing the amazing turnaround. It is truly inspiring.

  8. Padmavathi said,

    July 20, 2012 at 8:59 am

    All your blogs on SV has been excellent. I have been asking my husband to do SV for few years; now left to his choice. After reading all the blogs on SV my heart is really bleeding badly that my husband is missing such a wonderful practice! BTW, he is already diabetic.

    • badrirag said,

      July 20, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Padmavathi,

      Thanks for your willingness to share our blog posts on sandhyavandanam with people you know so that they benefit. That is extraordinary.

    • badrirag said,

      July 20, 2012 at 9:10 am

      It is never too late to start SV and I hope your husband gets over his diabetes. You can also visit DiaSof and Diacel. These are services that we have developed for the diabetic community.

      also take time to visit http://www.healthierdiabetic.in to look at options for diabetics beyond english medicine or allopathy.

  9. Padmavathi said,

    July 20, 2012 at 9:03 am

    However I am now determined to add my 2 cents to spread this. I will be forwarding your blog pages for people whom I know, if one or two in some corner of the world gets inspired and start doing, that solves my purpose! Thank you again!

  10. August 26, 2012 at 2:48 am

    [...] Fascination, thy name is SV [...]

  11. Ajay said,

    February 11, 2014 at 2:16 am

    It is inspiration for me. I will start my Sandhyavandanam and keep it continued.

    • badrirag said,

      February 11, 2014 at 2:44 am

      Ajay,

      Congratulations on your decision to start Sandhyavandanam and best wishes that you continue forever.

      Badri


Leave a Reply

