The black spot on a white screen

This morning, my wife told me that the idli flour that i had purchased last night was unusable and almost at the same time, my elder son asked me “Appa, where did you buy the idli flour?  It is not good at all”.

For a moment I was stunned and even took it personally.  I then regained my composure and asked him “I have never heard you ask this question all these days when you had really nice fluffly idlis” and obviously he did not have an answer.

That set me thinking and reflecting.  We complain when occasionally things don’t go our way but seldom give a thought to the numerous times when we have got what we wanted.  That is about almost everything starting from our own physical health to the performance of our bikes or cars.

Perhaps it all started in the school when the teacher, inadvertently, circled the wrong answer in the notebook with a red pen which stood out amongst all the tick marks elsewhere.

Can we be grateful to all the great things that are happening to us all the time instead of cribbing about the odd moments?

 

3 Comments

  1. Ram said,

    April 5, 2011 at 4:15 am

    Good one. It goes to show that we miss the obvious always!

  2. badrirag said,

    April 5, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Thanks Ram. Unfortunately, we tend to miss out the stark ones. I had an opportunity to put into practice this new insight.

    Our servant maid did not turn up yesterday and the kitchen was littered with used vessels. And when this person came this morning, I was tempted to complain about her absence yesterday but reminded myself that as I have not even been aware of her coming every day all these months and years, let me be blind to this lapse.

    And actually, I felt much better after that.

  3. April 18, 2011 at 5:28 am

    […] During a small group meeting at my house y’day, one of the participants talked about the biggest missing element in our lives which is gratitude.  We have taken almost everything for granted except when it is scarce.  I had also briefly touched upon this in a previous post. […]


Leave a Reply

