Preparing for the Nasscom Launchpad – Part 2

In my previous post, I had written about the call that I got from Nasscom on the Launchpad.

Since I had never participated in a Nasscom event, I had tonnes of questions and all my preparation for the event was going to be decided based on the outcome of the conference call with the organizers.  I prepared for the call as if I was going for an interview and created a question sheet with some important and some trivial questions.

I had planned to be in the conference call slightly ahead of time (as is the case I usually do) but I hadn’t reckoned with a small glitch in my blackberry phone.  When prompted for the password for the call, I entered the numbers but the # key wouldn’t work and so I was not allowed in.  The next time, I asked for the operators’ assistance and logged into the call just in time.

Avinash introduced Peter Yorke who methodically went through the entire program, step by step with a lot of emphasis on telling the story of the product in a way that the media can relate to it.  I was wondering why he was repeating himself and I had the answer on the D-Day but then i am getting ahead of myself.

I raised a few questions (I was surprised that the other participants had none) and I was really impressed by the clarity in Peter’s responses and his patience in responding to my follow-up questions as well.

Avinash concluded the conference call with a request that all of us send our presentations and press releases in the prescribed format latest by monday (7th November) so that they can include it in the program schedule.

And then started an exchange of emails between Peter, Avinash and myself with me sending the first draft of the presentation and the press release and bugging both of them for their feedback and eventually pulling an one-liner from Peter.

I will share more about my adventures and travails whilst getting ready to participate in this event in my next post.

2 Comments

  1. November 13, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Good Post!

  2. Ramkumar said,

    November 15, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Good one, you have kindled the curiosity. Waiting for more & soon!


Leave a Reply

