Experiencing the power of Bhagawath Geetha

Bhagawath Geetha

Lord Krishna in Geetha said “You have the right to perform the action but the outcome is not in your hands” and I experienced the truth behind this.

A couple of weeks ago, I wanted to ride on the wave of ‘kolaveri di’ and instantly composed (!!) a sequel to it in the form of lyrics called ‘Thalaiviri da’ and posted it here.  I tweeted about it and linked it to my Facebook page.  I was expecting tonnes of visits and comments for what I thought was a very interesting and innovative post.  There were almost none and I was really disappointed.

Likewise, when I wrote the post on “Ninaipadhellam nadandhu vittal“, it was  a flow that was beyond the original scope and I enjoyed writing it.  I made the mistake of hoping that it will attract many visitors pouring accolades on the dimensions and hence i was really disappointed when there were none.  Worse, I was so frustrated with the outcome that I did not follow up with subsequent posts on this beautiful and soulful song.

Yesterday, I wrote a post about my experiences in visiting a marriage show as a piece of  pure self-expression and did the regular tweet and facebook link but thought nothing about it.  This morning, I see that it has generated about 60+ hits and surprisingly from search engine referrals, which was totally unintended.  Now I am pleasantly surprised.

Now do I want to be disappointed or pleasantly surprised on an ongoing basis? If I am keeping my eyes always on the result or the outcome, disappointment is bound to happen because what happens is not in my control.  On the contrary, if I just did without any expectation, then the impact of the outcome can only be positive.

In addition to getting disappointed, there is yet another danger of focussing on the outcome and that is giving up on the action.  If I wanted to create a great result but felt constrained by how I am going to achieve it, I might not even take the first step.  It is therefore important for me to take the action freely  without the chains of expectation.

For example, I am writing this post, inserting a picture of Krishna, using the appropriate tags, tweeting about it and inserting a link in Facebook in order to create awareness about my post.  All these are important and necessary.  But if i keep checking my email box for comments or the site stats in my WordPress dashboard for the number of hits, then I am bound to be miserable.  I will do all these and let the entire thing go.  I am ok with Whatever happens!!

The key to happiness in life therefore is in aligning our actions with the intended goal without being unduly concerned about the outcome.

3 Comments

  1. Subramanian said,

    December 12, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Just as beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, happiness or sadness is the internal environment of the person. Besides, how would you explain happiness – is it joy / contentment at having achieved your aim / happier than the other / as happy as the other / less sad than the other … etc.

    • badrirag said,

      December 13, 2011 at 1:54 am

      Dr Sub, as you have rightly said, happiness is internal but we chase it outside and that is the source of our misery. Contentment, happiness, joy, ecstasy and bliss are various degrees of the same expression, imho.

  2. December 24, 2011 at 3:43 am

    […] not do it at all.  While I am all for giving the best (incidentally the crux of my earlier post on Bhagawath Geetha), I see that there are occasions where it may not be possible.  In such situations, it is, imo, […]


Leave a Reply

