Two Small But Significant Victories

 

My response to most situations that require action is to postpone them till they become inevitable.

Yesterday, while cleaning our bedroom, my wife remarked that the window ac unit is not working.  Normally I would tell her that I will attend to it and promptly forget all about it.  But yesterday was quite different in the sense that I called the AC  mechanic with whom we have an AMC and asked him to come over.  Usually that person would take a few days to respond (like his customer) but he came over almost immediately.  He opened the unit and found that the power supply to the ac unit was much below par.  He also connected the unit to another socket nearby and showed that it worked.  He threw the ball in some other court and left the scene.

Again another major opportunity for me to postpone but strangely enough I was behaving very abnormally.  I called our electrician immediately and he said he will be there in a few hours.   He did not come yesterday but since I was attending to other things, I did not follow-up.  This morning, while looking at my call logs, I realized that this electrician was due y’day but did not turn up. I then called him and asked him to come over.  He came without any of the meters to measure the voltage of current passing through the ac unit socket but felt that the circuit breaker at the socket is probably the culprit.

I asked him to replace it which he shortly did & within a few minutes the AC unit was up and running.  This itself was a major triumph for me!!  But there was one more to come!!

As the electrician was leaving I told him about our microwave oven not working despite changing a major spare part almost 2 years ago (Now do you see my ability to postpone indefinitely?).  In fact, only this morning my mother was complaining about the microwave oven not being usable despite money being spent on its repairs and so this was fresh in my mind.

He checked the plug and perhaps straightened out the inner physical mechanism and then connected it to the socket.  When I turned on the oven it was humming and that was music to my ears.  Just to be on the safe side, I filled a small microwave-safe container with water and pressed the ‘start’ button.  Within 10 seconds I stopped and felt the hot water.  It was unbelievable but true.

For want of checking and cleaning the plug, we had to go without the convenience of a microwave oven for so long!!

I realized two things from this experience;

a.  Most trivial issues become full-fledged disasters-in-waiting because of lack of prompt attention.

b.  If I do what I need to do, then most problems are as good as solved

Now what about you?

7 Comments

  1. Supraja sampath said,

    January 25, 2012 at 8:16 am

    If only all the men(husbands) read and take the message, life would a better place to live in for all the wives.

    • badrirag said,

      January 25, 2012 at 8:31 am

      Supraja,

      Thanks for the (back-handed) compliment which I will share with Geetha. But looks like you have missed the point!! “If only the wives take the effort of reminding their men (husbands) instead of cribbing or criticizing, then they would perhaps enjoy much higher success” Edhu eppadi irruku?

  2. SreepriyaBalaji said,

    January 25, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Quite inspiring. Myself and Balaji have a long list waiting like this. We have been managing without a fan in a room (courtesy good climate) for more than year now, lol.
    i think for housewives it is the deeply ingrained idea that attending to household electrical problems is “a man’s job” and the resultant lack of familiarity with stuff like this. Having a husband who doesnt mind helping me in the household work when needed, I feel its only fair that I do start taking up some of the “men’s work”, bur the idea of having to deal with electricians is not very encouraging

    • badrirag said,

      January 25, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Way to go, Sreepriya. Get that fan (& if need be an AC too) installed TODA?Y. You can do it.

      Somehow my post has got misinterpreted as being a reflection of man vs woman. But all that I wanted to share is that it only takes a small effort to get things done & that most things snowball into a crisis because they were not tended to at an earlier stage.

      Badri

  3. N Ramesh said,

    January 25, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Dear Badri,

    Let us not use the blogging space to wash our dirty linen in public !

    Further, all the expressions, words and phrases, cleverly crafted lines and sentences are nothing but nicely couched submissions about one being lazy and lethargic primarily and is certainly reflective of such a tendency, which is not about Men or Women, Wife or Husband, but more about the basic attitude of the specie called Homo Sapiens especially in the Modern World, especially the tech savvy, highly educated, professionally qualified, well informed and the so-called extremely literate class of the society – which is a moot point that has been intelligently and glossed over both by the author and the commentators !

    Thus Spake N Ra !

    • badrirag said,

      January 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      Dear Ramesh,

      I can certainly talk about myself and that is what I did. I have not done research on the homosapiens especially the tech …..society (your words) and hence not qualified to generalize like you have done as an arm chair critic. The distinctions of man/woman or husband/wife were made by the readers and I had only responded.

      Try to get down from the self-created pedestal and share your learnings from your experiences.

      cheers

      Badri

  4. Dr.Cliff Saldanha said,

    January 29, 2012 at 4:57 am

    Verily true. A stich in time saves nine.


Leave a Reply

