Trivial (for me) but significant (for the other)

“I am really envious of you – your moustache”

When I heard this from an acquaintance yesterday, I was astonished.  For those who have seen me, my ‘meesai’ is of the regular kind as against that of the (in)famous Veerappan.  I was all the more surprised that of all the things he saw in me, he was envious of this!!  When I probed a little, he told me that he is unable to sport one because of his profession being a temple priest.

It then struck me that people relate to one another by what they don’t have regardless of whether it is trivial or significant.  This small piece of facial hair that can be removed in a second and can grow back soon has become an object of envy.  Remember ‘Gol maal’ or its Tamizh remake ‘Thillu mullu’?

 

1 Comment

  1. N Ramesh said,

    February 8, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Dear Badri,

    Good to know that people in this world of ours are noticing little little things in others and appreciating it too. Continue to sport that moustache until I meet you next in person (and do not allow it to grow or even dare to trim it) !

    Thus Spake N Ra


Leave a Reply

