What worked for me when I got stuck?

When I needed my mother’s medical bills for a reimbursement, I realized that I had trashed the bills after the purchase.  As I was purchasing the medicines regularly from Medplus, a chain of pharmacies, I approached an outlet and sought duplicate bills for my earlier purchases.  The counter clerk expressed his inability to issue a duplicate bill because he did not have the authorization.  I then spoke to his superior who said that they could issue a duplicate bill but only for those purchases from that outlet.  To add to my woes, I had bought the drugs from their various outlets in Chennai and it was not feasible for me to go to the different outlets and figure out the purchases made there.

I was really stuck and I was wondering what to do!!

Instead of being trapped in the situation and blaming myself for destroying the bills, I asked myself the question “What next?” and then I recalled an interaction with a senior official of the pharmacy chain.  I sent him a mail requesting him to issue a set of duplicate bills for the entire financial year.  He in turn asked the concerned person to do the needful.  I provided my address and within a week got duplicate bills of all my purchases for the year by courier. I want to acknowledge the prompt response of the officers at MedPlus at Hyderabad.

By accepting the situation and then asking “what’s next?”, I was able to take actions that finally helped me achieve the desired objective!!

4 Comments

  1. N Ramesh said,

    March 6, 2012 at 6:19 am

    Actually, the moral of this story or for that matter this incident is that; ‘Do do not ever be reckless or careless or exhibit nonchalance while dealing with anything in life, more particularly with regard to financial transactions and more specifically while engaging in effecting certain expenditures of the vital kind and even more importantly while dealing with Bills and stuff like that, to say the least at this juncture !

    And much more importantly is the aspect of consciously desist from and avoiding the arrogant act of trashing the bills and then later on running for the duplicate of it or rather going behind it, and not even repenting and regretting for such a kind of act committed in the first place !

    Thus Spake N Ra, as usual !

    • badrirag said,

      March 6, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Ramesh,

      As usual, you have picked up certain points in the post and commented out of context. What you have said is NOT the moral of this post. Yes, in this case, the situation was created by me but in life there are many events that are not necessarily of one’s making. Actually, there is no moral in this sharing because we tend to relate to morals as something we study and leave it at that!!

      What I have actually got from this incident and several others is that when I accept the situation as it is without assigning guilt or pointing fingers, I have actually got a breakthrough which gets into a zone of momentum when I ask “what’s next?” and then combined with action leads to astonishing results.

      What happens normally is that we get paralyzed in a crisis and this combo will help us get moving with lot of power!!

  2. SJ said,

    March 6, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Badri – here’s a another context (perhaps broader) to getting “unstuck”.
    http://www.jamesaltucher.com/2012/02/how-to-break-free-from-being-stuck/

  3. March 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

    What you composed made a bunch of sense. However, consider this, what if you were to create a awesome title? I am not saying your content isn’t solid., but suppose you added something that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean What worked for me when I got stuck? Strands of thought is a little boring. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines to grab viewers interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it would make your blog a little bit more interesting.


Leave a Reply

