If you really want to do something ….

Do it now or if you cannot, schedule a specific date & time to do it!!

I had met two people at a recent event in Bengaluru who expressed interest in what I was doing and asked me for some details of our personal finance software product.  I took their cards and promised to send them some details by email shortly.

This morning, when I reached Chennai I created a task in outlook to send them the details and just before I started writing this post, I sent those emails.  It might look very routine for you and you might wonder why I am wasting my time writing this post and yours too!!

I discovered that if I had not done it as soon as I wanted to do it, I wouldn’t have done it at all! (the backup reminder from outlook was a bonus that I did not require this time though!!).  And it is not about me but it is human nature!!

Another instance if you are not convinced.

I had given a complimentary subscription of my SMS-based service to few friends of mine for participating in a survey.  Although I know that they are serious people and committed to their health and family, they have still not activated the subscription despite the fact it just takes to send a sms to a particular number!!  I am sure they have sent many sms ever since they got the subscription and so it is not about them unable to send a sms.

It just plainly slipped behind their ever-increasing tasks and schedules.  More importantly they did not take action immediately or schedule a specific time to do it.

And it is not about just me and those few friends of mine!!

How many times have you

a. Bought a book or a music cd that you wanted to read or listen to and still lying unread or unopened?

b. Wanted to start your exercise or to quit smoking but it is yet to begin?

c. Wanted to call a friend just for old times sake but it is still a wish?

d. Wanted to clean your wardrobe or your desk of clutter and it is worse than before?

I can go on and on but I’m sure you get the message.

Do it now or else schedule a specific date and time (preferably with a human or electronic reminder) to do it.

Have a great day and keep smiling!!

1 Comment

  1. N Ramesh said,

    June 11, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Thanks Badri for reminding me that I am yet to get that complementary subscription from you which you had assured for participating in that survey conducted by you, about which I wanted to tell you for long !

    N Ramesh. .


Leave a Reply

