Back on Sandhyavandanam after a long hiatus

 

I’m amazed to find that my blog posts on Sandhyavandanam have been read even now (after almost 18 months) quite frequently.

After writing those posts, somewhere I stopped doing SV and decided to stop writing about it as well!! (some might wonder what’s the connection!!).  I have restarted a couple of days back, thanks to the repeated taunts by my dear friend Ram and so here I am trying to share whatever I have understood from this beautiful tradition!!

Stay tuned!!

 

4 Comments

  1. N Ramesh said,

    July 30, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Glory to the Practice of Sandhya Vandanam !

    It has made Badri Listen to the inputs of others over time !

    This clearly proves that the point that Sandhya Vandanam really works !

    Thus Spake N Ra !

    • badrirag said,

      July 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      hahaha!!

      Again, it is really the glory of SV that makes a person like Ramesh talk about its glory!!!

  2. uday said,

    November 26, 2013 at 4:04 am

    Thank you for your wonderful, very enriching and inspiring posts on sandhyavandanam. I have been fortunate to have been born in a family that instilled strong values of bhakti and tradition. My parents performed my upanayanam in the year of 1998. After a few weeks of strict adherence in a very zealous manner, I have never been able to get back into the practice. I think you have very nicely articulated the multiple excuses that we give ourselves to evade it. But all along the way my parents have never prodded or pushed me on this. “You will come back to it at the right time in your life” or so is what they might have mentioned it at times. The bhakthi and the love for tradition and the occasional worship never went away – I guess life has enough challenges that force one to turn to God quite often, and for me it wasn’t very different.

    It has been in the last few months that I wanted to listen to something more spiritual on my long commute in the car to work. And that’s when I started listening to pravchanams on my smartphone :).

    It started with sundarakanda , then moved on to soundaryalahari. Both brilliantly articulated, explained by Brahmashri Chaganti Koteswara Rao garu. And somwehere in that phase I decided that I am missing out on one of the greatest fortunes of having been gifted with a chance to perform Gayatri mantra Japa.

    I have started doing my sandhya vandanam for the last 2 days and I am fulled with a tremendous zeal to never let go of the process ever. Life is multiples times more busier than it ever was some 15 years ago. But I think the need to immerse myself in something that has been missing in my daily life is more critical than ever

    There is a lot more that I would have wanted to say. But I would like to express my immense gratitude for writing these posts on sandhya vandanam. Like how it has for me, I am sure it has benefitted thousands others.

    Would like to take opportunity in sharing my experience in this new Journey of life, as I would think it is.

    Thank you sir, and wish you all the best in the good work that you have been doing.

    • badrirag said,

      November 26, 2013 at 7:31 am

      Dear Uday,

      Thank you for sharing your life’s journey in a crisp manner and congratulations for having commenced SV. our prayers that you continue to do it regularly and in the process inspire many others to take to it.

      Thank you also for your words of encouragement. Please do share the posts with people you know so that they can also read and benefit.

      With prayers

      Badri


Leave a Reply

