My Sweet Musical Memories of Shri Param Thillairajah – 1

In my previous post, I had written about how I came to meet my music guru in Sydney and promised to share some experiences of mine in that relationship.

If I can term my tutelage under him in a phrase, it would be “partial gurukulam”.  Unlike the gurukulams of the vedic age where the students stayed with the teacher, I was living at my apartment in Harris Park, a suburb and he was at his flat in West Mead, another suburb in the same line.  But like those gurukulams, he taught music to me without taking any fees and more importantly, took care of me when I went to his place for classes.

The moment I would step in, he would bellow “Amma! (calling his wife) Badri vandirukkar (I was less than half his age then but still he would refer to me as “neenga” and “avar” as was the Sri Lankan culture)! Give him something to eat” and some dish will appear in my front almost instantly.  Both of them treated me as their son and showered their love and affection.

When we got an opportunity to perform together in Sydney Murugan Temple, we were asked what to print in the invite and he immediately said “Sydney Brothers” without batting an eyelid, although he was 40 years elder to me.  He had a phenomenal sense of humour and his eyes would gleam with mischief when he made such remarks.

I really miss you, Ayya!!

6 Comments

  1. Murthy said,

    August 26, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Hi Badri,

    I am Murthy (Bahrain, we used to talk about cine music n Carnatic music). I came across you in FB. I am in Dubai for the last 18 years.

    Regards,

    Murthy

  2. Ram said,

    August 27, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    There are a few relationships that transcend our normal way of life. I see this as one such relationship. Consier yourself lucky to have been part of this Badri. I am touched & inspired.

  3. N Ramesh said,

    August 27, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    I think it is a really very passionate blog from you and I look forward to more of such stuff in the days to come, and hopefully forever !

    Thus Spake N Ra !

  4. Raji Srinivasan said,

    August 28, 2012 at 3:17 am

    Interesting. Reminds me of my own veenai teacher with whom I just started learning. Very kind old lady who learnt from Emani’s direct sishya. In just 1 month, I feel I have known her always. Can you believe it – she refused to take any fees from me! Imagine someone with these values in these times! I understand how much you miss your guru!

    • badrirag said,

      August 29, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Hi Raji,

      A pleasant surprise of hearing from your end and sharing your own experience!! Thanks for that and do stay in touch

      Badri

  5. December 15, 2013 at 8:27 am

    […] performance and at Melbourne.  You can read my memories of my guru who passed away last year here, here and […]


Leave a Reply

