Is India Inc Shining?

I understand that for a promotion of a real estate project that cost Rs.6 crore, there were 1000 enquiries. This means that each enquiry costs Rs.60,000.  But was each prospect  handled properly given that they are so expensive?  I doubt it.

Let me share a few recent experiences of mine as a prospective customer.

There was an unsolicited sms offering ‘bulk sms facilities at a lower cost’.  I sent an sms asking the person to call me the next day.  And I am still waiting.

An Insurance agent accosted me outside my son’s school and gave me a pamphlet for mediclaim.  I called him later and asked some questions.  I then suggested that he come over in person the next day between 2 and 3 pm.  He did not call up asking for the address nor has he contacted me since!!

There was a series of differently done promo ads on TV followed by a front page ad in ‘The Hindu’ for a new residential project in Chennai.  Last week, I called up the 3 mobile numbers that were listed in the ad and all of them  went unanswered.  Surprisingly enough, nobody has returned the call till date.

And these are not isolated examples but very common!!

Perhaps all of them have so much business that they cannot handle any more!!  I wish it were but if so why did they advertise on mainstream media, do a sms blast and physically distribute the pamphlets?

I guess there is so much fun in designing and running campaigns but follow-up is hard work.  Neither enterprises nor entrepreneurs are interested in the latter!!

Image

With this attitude towards business, India Inc can hardly survive let alone shine!!

1 Comment

  1. N Ramesh said,

    January 7, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    This is how the world is, my dear ! A world that is full of regressive mindsets, who are progressively deteriorating in quality, both in content and intent ! But yet they all look out and hope for a better life for themselves ! And more interestingly, they desire a lot without even attempting genuinely to deserve what they wish to have in life !

    Thus Spake the New Age Sage !


Leave a Reply

