4 takeaways from an unexpected traffic

expect

Once a while, I would check my blog for site stats and any comments.

when I did the same today, I was shocked, pleasantly though, when I saw 143 views because in days when I don’t post, the number of views would be between 20 and 40.

And when i looked at the posts that got the maximum views it was a post that I wrote in May 2012 titled “All Words, No Action” and it had 128 views.  It just didn’t make any sense until I saw the source of the traffic.

There were 138 views referred by Search engines of which 128 was for a search phrase “New Year’s Resolutions”.  That particular post was about our unwillingness to stick to the new year resolutions and so there was some connect.

So, what I am taking on from this experience?

a.  We can only do our bit in terms of writing and at best letting the world know about it via Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Google + etc.  What happens thereafter is totally beyond our control.

b.  The life of a post is as long as it is indexed and shows up.  Just because I wrote a post last year does not mean that it will not have any readership.  In fact, my posts on Sandhyavandanam or Booking Tatkal tickets have regularly and repeatedly got views (including today) even though they are not recent. In fact, the Sandyavandanam post was written in September 2010!!

c. Our own views about our posts may have no correlation with the reception they receive.  For example, I wrote a post on Kannadasan’s immortal lines “Ninaipadhellam Nadandhu Vittal” and I thought it was a fab post that will have a viral effect.  To my dismay, there weren’t many views for that.  Likewise, I thought I will ride on the Kolaveri Di bandwagon with my satirical post “Thalaivari da” and again I was disappointed. This can also be taken as a corollary a as above.

d.  Be prepared for the unexpected, either compliments or brickbats.

 

3 Comments

  1. Joe Owens said,

    January 8, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I am experiencing what I consider a viral response through Facebook of a post I made through my blogging site. It is a personal recount of my brother’s death sixteen years ago today. As you said we have no idea how the post will live on, but we must make the effort to make it worth a reader’s time or our reputation will sabotage us.

    • badrirag said,

      January 8, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Thank you Joe for your share. Let’s keep writing.

  2. N Ramesh said,

    January 9, 2013 at 8:07 am

    That’s how life unfolds and unfurls, in so many ways, some of which mystical and miraculous, and others appear to be ordinary and simple, yet very profound and highly meaningful in content and in its purport !

    And that is how the flow of life has been aptly designed and structured by the Maker, with a whole lot of twists and turns, more of curves than straight lines, and that too formed in a non linear pattern called Life !

    Herein, I would like to quote / reproduce one of the early ‘Mahavakyas’ of mine, ‘Expect the Unexpected and Anticipate the Unanticipated’ and I only hope that you are able to recollect and remember the same now !

    Thus Spake the New Age Sage !


Leave a Reply

