Is Twitter dumb or am I missing something?

Twitter

Although i have been on twitter since early 2007 (i did my first tweet on 30th March 2007 and it read “starting the day with a blog on reservations and nz wi match”) I have tweeted only 1300 times in these 6 long years.

Inspired by a post by Neil Patel about building a quality traffic to my blog using twitter in a strategic manner, I recently (in fact yesterday) started following relevant people.  Soon I started getting email notifications about people following me.

twitter (1)

Perhaps i am a bit pampered by FB and LinkedIn which show me if my friends/contacts have accepted my invite!  I expected to get an inkling of people responding to my tweets either as responses or as retweets (the greed getting the better of me) but my twitter interface showed none of it at all.  I had to click on ‘Connect’ and see if there has been some action on new followers, responses or retweets or mentions.  Likewise, I had received some emails about some Direct Messages (DMs in twitter parlance) but there wasn’t a hint of that when i logged into my account.

Is everybody facing this problem or am I doing something wrong?  Is there some setting that I didn’t address and hence those notifications are not getting triggered at all? Or if everybody is having the same experience, how come they have all kept quiet all this while?

Expecting some enlightenment from the twitterati folks!!
3 Comments

  1. Ram said,

    October 22, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Badri,

    You seem to have lots of time to splurge in twitter. Personally, I consider this medium a waste of time as it really does not add any value. But, Imay be an exception.

    Cheers

    Ram

    • badrirag said,

      October 22, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      Ram,

      When i was first introduced to Twitter, I too thought it was a waste of time but over time (pun unintended) I have come to see it as a very powerful channel of communication.

      If you look at the sea from the beach, the experience is different from what you would get if you put your feet in the water and if you go in a few meters.

      Cheers

      Badri

  2. October 31, 2013 at 2:43 am

    Twitter is as described by you. During the three days at NASSCOM, it was easy to connect to friends in Bangalore. 🙂 Liked your beach sea statement. Nice one.


Leave a Reply

